Fans of the television series Nashville are now closer to seeing the return of the show, but there will be some missing faces.

While several actors will remain on the show, it has been confirmed that Will Chase, who plays Luke Wheeler, won't be returning, as he has signed on for a new ABC drama called Time After Time.

Entertainment Weekly reveals that Chase will be a series regular on the new drama. Chase will play Griffin, an ambitious and charismatic war veteran vying to be New York’s next state senator.

While it has been rumored that Aubrey Peeples has also said goodbye Nashville, fans can rest easy in knowing that series regulars Hayden Panettiere, Connie Britton, Charles Esten, Lennon & Maisy Stella, Chris Carmack, Sam Palladio, Jonathan Jackson and Clare Bowen will all return.

While performing at the Grand Ole Opry over the weekend, Esten (who plays the role of Deacon Claybourne) dropped the big news of the series' December launch date.

The Opry then echoed the announcement on Twitter:

Chase has not been at loose ends since ABC dropped Nashville. According to EW, the actor is currently filming The Deuce for HBO, a drama that chronicles the New York City porn scene in the '70s.

Which Nashville Stars Could Become Country Stars?

More From US 104.9