Iowa's Distracted Driving law goes into effect tomorrow, July 1, and it allows police to pull folks over for even suspicion of texting while driving.

The fine for getting caught is substantially higher as well, jumping from $30 to $100. The offense will also appear on the offender’s driving record, making your insurance a lot more costly.

Unfortunately, Iowa will remain behind in penalizing people for distracted driving. The law won’t cover making phone calls, or using your phone as a GPS while driving.

Do yourself, and everyone else a favor and put the phone down in the car. You may believe that you, above everyone else, have the skill to multi-task while driving.

The price of finding out that you don't is too high.

More From US 104.9